RSS Feed

Hat Update

Jayne HatThe hat was too big even for oldest boy child so I had to rip it out and start over. No worries though, I wrote up the whole thing so I can make another from the left overs, yay!

Here it is, pretty cunning don’t you think?

And the rough notes (I will clean these up when I do a second and confirm the pattern):

Supplies:

Super bulky yarn in Jayne’s Hat colors

US Size 10.5 needles and US size 11 needles

US size 10.5 – cast on 48 join in round
k1p1 4 rows
switch to 11 needles
k for 2 inches
k4 rows yellow begin decreases
k2tog, k6 repeat
k
k2tog, k5 repeat
k
k2tog, k4 repeat
k
k2tog, k3 repeat
k
k2tog, k2 repeat
k
k2tog, k1 repeat
k
k2tog around
tie off

Now make earflaps

pick up 10 more towards back, not centered
k 12ish rows (I may have only knit 10, I will confirm when I make another, use your judgement on it)
k2tog k k2tog
p across
k2tog k k2tog
p2tog p p2tog
k2tog k2tog
p2
leave string & unravel a bit

make a haphazard pompom – jayne’s mom’s wasn’t perfect & yours shouldn’t be either.

About linuxchic

I am an interpretive fiber artist, a sci-fi nerd, a linux geek, and a sysadmin.

Comments are closed.

